A New Leaf

I was looking at myself in the mirror and I noticed that I have a little bit of a belly sticking out. Now, it may be because I have terrible posture and I just mush everything together. Either way, I know that I’m out of shape. I mean I got out of breath getting out of bed this morning.

Now I’m not overweight by any means. I’m 5’ 9” 165 pounds and a BMI of 24.0. I’m a little bigger than I should be, but I’m in a normal healthy weight range for my height (I could weigh between 127-171 pounds). I don’t feel healthy though. I feel lethargic all the time. I just feel out of shape.

With obesity growing in America, I get angry at the fact that people are dying and are becoming ill with something that they could avoid. Obesity is the second most preventable cause of death in the US (behind smoking), but it slowing making a rise to number one.

Obesity is a medical condition in which excess body fat has accumulated to the extent that it may have an adverse effect on health, leading to reduced life expectancy and/or increased health problems. Obesity increases the likelihood of various diseases, particularly heart disease, type 2 diabetes, obstructive sleep apnea, certain types of cancer, and osteoarthritis. Obesity is most commonly caused by a combination of excessive food energy intake, lack of physical activity, and genetic susceptibility, although a few cases are caused primarily by genes, endocrine disorders, medications or psychiatric illness. Evidence to support the view that some obese people eat little yet gain weight due to a slow metabolism is limited; on average obese people have a greater energy expenditure than their thin counterparts due to the energy required to maintain an increased body mass.

I know what you’re thinking, “why do you care about obesity since you are of normal size and weight?” Well I’m worrying about it now so I don’t have to later. I notice myself going to the drive-thru at McDonald’s just to get something quick then laying on the couch playing video games or watching TV and just being lazy.

I’m tired of it. All of it. I want the whole world to be healthier, but I can’t complain about the world being out of shape if I don’t try and make myself a healthier person, right? I don’t want to be lazy or out of shape now or when I’m older.

So, with that being said, I plan on to start following a basic cardio/resistance workout. I am saying this right now, I am committing not only my body, but my mind to getting in shape. I am going to drink plenty of water and make a better effort on my intake of foods that are good for me than the foods that are high energy sources (fats and sugars). I’m going to get up and go to the gym and do a little cardio and resistance weight training to get bigger, faster, and stronger (FHS reference). I’m going to do all of this while getting plenty of sleep and studying for school. Sounds impossible, but I will succeed.

Well, I hope so. I don’t want to do it for a week then give up on it like all college kids do at everything.

Keep chopping.

Say something about the blog, yo.

