Trophy Deer

20111221-133459.jpg

Ok, he’s no trophy to hang on your wall, but he’ll be some good eating. We’ll call him a “trophy cull.” He’s got 4 points on his left side and just a spike on the other. Weirdest looking deer I’ve ever seen.

Shot this deer in the Trinity River bottom. He was trying to fight another buck, but little did he know that he was fighting a bigger battle with me. I was nervous, sure, but I’ve had a good teacher in my father to know how to shoot a gun. I lined him up in the crosshairs, flipped off the safety, took a deep breath, and pulled the trigger. He dropped like a rock in his tracks. Perfect shot.

It has been a good year hunting for me. I’ve pulled the trigger twice and have tagged two deer. I have one more tag to fill and gonna try to go three for three.

Wish me luck and if you get the opportunity to go outdoors and hunt, do it. It’s a lot of fun and you’ll be helping keep a great tradition alive. I’ve done it since I was a little kid and it gets better every time I go out.

2 responses to “Trophy Deer

  1. Here in Dublin, I got a present of a leg of venison this afternoon. Shot yesterday in the Wicklow Mountains. It will hang in my shed for a week or so before becoming a big dinner.
    Great meat,
    Conor

    Like

Say something about the blog, yo.

