Stealing Clothes That Don’t Match

Let me tell you something, I work in a nursing home as a nurse’s aide. My job is relatively simple. I wake people up, I wash them, I change them, I feed them, and that’s only a couple of them. The rest of the people on my hallway are people that can dress and take care of themselves, so you can see that my job is easy. It isn’t the greatest job in the world, but it’s a check and I don’t mind work.

The past two days I’ve been working the evening shift. It has been really easy and slow, so everyone (including the residents) has been laid back. It was just after dinner and I was picking up trays out of people’s rooms when this woman comes storming down the hallway with her mother in a wheelchair. She asks if she call tell me something.

“Of course, ma’am. How can I help you?”

“Baby,” she starts, “Let me tell you something about my mama’s clothes. People have been stealing my mama’s clothes and I’m tired of it. I come in this morning and all of her clothes are gone. I keep telling everyone that I will do all her laundry and washing and cleaning of my mama’s clothes. No one listens to me though. I had to start writing her name on the outside of her clothes with a black permanent marker so I could see if anyone is wearing my mama’s clothes. I haven’t seen anyone yet, but when I do I will let y’all know. And another thing I’ve got all her clothes matched up the way they’re supposed to be and people just pull off random pants and shirts and match them together and then she looks silly because her clothes don’t match. How stupid do you people have to be to steal my mama’s clothes and not match her shirt and pants? It baffles me on how stupid people are up here.”

The irony of the whole thing is that this woman was ruining her own argument. She had on clothes that didn’t match, she had on one sock, two different shoes on, she was cross-eyed, she had an odor, and her shirt had HER MOTHER’S NAME WRITTEN IN PERMANENT MARKER IN THE SAME PLACE SHE SAID SHE WROTE IT FOR ALL HER CLOTHES.

Talk about an awkward moment…

Trying not to laugh in the woman’s face I said that I would keep an eye out for any person that would be wearing her mother’s clothing and remind the staff that she will handle all clothing that she provides. She proceeded to walk out of the nursing home mumbling under her breath and cursing at everyone who lives and works there.

4 responses to “Stealing Clothes That Don’t Match

Say something about the blog, yo.

