Date Night Fail

So the other night, my girlfriend and I were going to have date night. We started the night off by going to the indoor track to watch our friend, Julian practice for the Olympic trials. It wasn’t his best jumps, but we left right afterwards.

We then headed out to go get something to eat. The first place we tried had a 50-60 minute wait. We could not wait that long. We were starving already, so we went driving around Bryan to look for something.

We drove all through Bryan looking at every place there. We said no to everything because it was either too crowded or very shady. We eventually made out way back into College Station and passed by other restaurants and they all lead to the answer: no. We even called back to the original place that we were going to eat at and they said the wait was still 45-50 minutes long.

The road came to Great Wall Chinese Buffet. We both love Chinese food and we were both starving and tired of looking so we settled. We sat down and started eating.

The food was…….less than stellar. The atmosphere was…….less than stellar. The people in the restaurant were……..(you guessed it) less than stellar. We pressed onward because we were too hungry to even care.

All was good until my stomach started hurting. It was hurting a lot. I whispered to my girlfriend that we need to leave RIGHT NOW.

“Why?”

“My stomach is not agreeing with me.”

Then she gets this blank look on her face. “Oh my gosh. It just hit me too. We need to leave.”

We left as quick as we could get the check (it seemed like forever) and sped out of the parking lot. I weaved in and out of traffic like I was running from the law and dropped my girlfriend off at her house. I continued driving like a madman down the road.

I made it back to my apartment. It was struggle to unlock my door to get inside. I literally ran to my bathroom and……you know that scene in the movie Bridesmaids where they’re in the bridal shop after eating some sketchy food? Well it was along the lines of that.

If you don’t know what I’m talking about, here’s a link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jrb7_XIIbhI

Anyway, the moral of the story is to call and make reservations at the restaurant so you don’t eat at Great Wall Buffet.

3 responses to “Date Night Fail

  1. Pingback: Why I Write the Blog « Jaybird is the Word·

  2. Pingback: Another Date Night with Meg « Jaybird is the Word·

Say something about the blog, yo.

