I’m Good at Math

So I got a test back in class last week. I made an 85/100. That’s great, but I noticed something odd about my score. On the bottom of each page my point total for the page was written. I added up the numbers and it added up to 90. I added them up again. Again I got 90.

I walked up to the professor and showed him his mistake.

Me: Excuse me, Dr. M? I think you added up my score wrong on my exam. I should have a 90. You gave me an 85.

Dr. M: Well let’s see your test. You missed 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 15 points. That’s an 85.

Me: …but the points on the bottom of the page add up to 90.

Dr. M: You still missed 15 points and that’s an 85.

Me: (irritated) Add up the points on the bottom of the page. That’s a 90.

Dr. M: Nope. Still an 85.

Me: (slightly more irritated) Are you saying I can’t do math?

Dr. M: Well yes because you missed 15 points. Not 10. If you take 15 from 100 that’s 85.

Me: (staring deep into his soul the with blood boiling rage that only God, Himself, could stop) My father taught me how to add and subtract numbers. I know math. I how how to count to 90. Add up the points again. You, sir, don’t know math. You are wrong here. You know it.

Dr. M: Sorry.

Me: This isn’t over until I say it’s over.

I left before I smacked his face off of his face. I was enraged. To quote my friend and fellow blogger, Breezy F, “Complete dumbassery.”

Couldn’t agree with her more.

2 responses to “I’m Good at Math

  1. I was thinking maybe Dr. M was working from a total of 105 points to give the class a +5 advantage, potentially. But… that really doesn’t make any sense either, because you’d still have 90 if you missed 15.

    But anyways… been there and my heart’s sympathy is out to you. Students are ultimately very powerless with the grading stuff and you have to just keep going and toughing it out.

    Like

    • It’s a crazy world we live in these days. I told my grandmother about this and she said that the “teacher is always right.”

      …of course she was a school teacher so I think she’s a little biased.

      Like

Say something about the blog, yo.

