Test Anxiety

I have test anxiety. Okay, that doesn’t tell you much about me. Every test I have taken in college has made me nervous in some way shape or form. I get the typical sweaty palms, dry mouth, increased heart rate, etc that comes with my sympathetic nervous system taking over. Some tests I’m not as anxious, but this last round of tests had the adrenaline pumping.

It was finals week of my last spring semester of my undergraduate career (I still have another semester. Sorry Mom and Dad). This final was in Biology 434: Regulatory and Behavior Neuroscience. I already have a solid grade in the class, but I could bring it up to a much higher grade. I studied all week, reviewed my notes and old tests, and even met with people to review as a group. I did everything I could to make sure I knew the material, but as the day of the final approached, I got a little more and more nervous.

The morning of the final I woke up and crammed as much last-minute information into my head as possible. Time ticked away and I could feel my nerves getting the better of me. I stood outside the room and my stomach was in a knot. I needed to calm down so I went to the bathroom to and splashed some water on my face.

I looked up in the mirror. Water was dripping off my face. I’m scared to death. I look at my watch and see it’s time to start walking into the lecture hall to start the final. I took a deep breath and as I began to exhale, something that I’ve never done before, I threw up in the trashcan. My body couldn’t think of another plan. It was like “What do we do? Let’s get rid of some food!”

I went in and took my final. The test went fine, but I had to take a final with the taste of vomit in my mouth. Worst two hours ever.

Say something about the blog, yo.

