Super Senior Status

I’m almost two weeks into my fifth year at A&M and the only thing that I’ve learned so far is that I’m old and no one has respect for the Super Senior.

Yesterday in my genetics lab, everyone in the room had to go around and say their name, their major, and classification. A lot of people are sophomores and juniors, but they look like they’re 12 years old. I’m one of the last people to introduce myself and I stand up and say that I was a “Super Senior.” Deafening silence. On top of that, they look at me like I’m a leper holding a gun to a puppy’s head.

We went on to work on the lab. As we’re working, I make a reference to something that happened my freshman year. Once again, deafening silence and blank stares.

“What are you talking about?”

You know. That thing that happened a few years back.

“I’m only a sophomore. I don’t know what that is.”

Come on, you have to know about this. It was a big deal.

“You’re old. Just face it.”

I’m offended. Not only am I just a year or two older than these people, but I get call old. Sure I’m in my fifth year of school, but I’m not that old. On top of that, they treated me rudely. Even if I was old, why would you treat a person like that? Not very Christ-like. Just because you don’t get a reference to something that was a major story in A&M history, doesn’t give you the right to be a jerk. It just means that you’re stupid and my superior Super Senior brain knows a lot more.

…but if it’s so superior, why am I still in school?

This is awkward.

Say something about the blog, yo.

