To Those Who Doubt Texas A&M

A little over 24 hours ago, Johnny Manziel won the Heisman Trophy. This marked a historical victory for not only the trophy (first freshman to ever win it), but for Texas A&M (first winner since John David Crow in 1957). But the victory symbolizes more than that. Well it does to me at least. The trophy this year pretty much sums up the year for Texas A&M football.

It has been the year of “they can’t do it,” in the world of college football for those Fightin’ Texas Aggies.

“They can’t compete in the SEC.”

“They can’t beat Alabama.”

“Johnny can’t win the Heisman trophy because he’s just not that good.”

Since last night, my twitter and Facebook has blown up from Johnny winning the most recognizable trophy in football. Most of them are good, but some of them aren’t so good. Some people are saying that he shouldn’t have won it. Some say he didn’t deserve it. Some say that “Aggies are insufferable” and “now we’re going to hear about it for the rest of the year.”

You’re damn right you’re going to hear about it.

I don’t really know where I’m going with this post. I’m so happy that I witnessed a player at Texas A&M in my last semester as a student win the trophy, but I’m so angry that people still doubt us, that they still hate us, that we still belong in the Big 12-2 in the shadow of that “powerhouse school” in Austin, and that “we don’t have a shot to beat Oklahoma in the Cotton Bowl this year.”

To everyone outside of Aggieland it may be the year of the “they can’t do it,” but everyone in Aggieland is saying “Yes we can.”

I think that everyone is jealous of us. I don’t know why. We’re just like any other school in the country. We yell for our team whether we win, lose, or tie. We have crazy traditions that we do at every game. We just happen to do it better than everyone else. Maybe that’s why they’re jealous. They aren’t as good as us, nor will they ever be. I’m not trying to be an ass or cocky about it, I’m just confident in my school and the love the pride I have that I am lucky enough to call myself a Fightin’ Texas Aggie.

In Mark 12:30, Jesus says, “Whoever is not with me is against me, and whoever does not gather with me scatters.” Granted, he is talking about following the Lord and believing in Him, but you get the idea. People either love us or hate us. They either believe or doubt. They either stand and wait to be called into the game if they’re needed or they sit down.

To all of those who keep doubting Texas A&M and what it “can’t” do: Keep doubting, we need fuel for the fire to prove you wrong.

"If you told me in August that I would be going to New York, I would have called you crazy and walked away. But if I told you that Texas A&M would win 10 games in the first year of the SEC, you would have done the same thing." - Johnny Manziel to Scott Van Pelt

“If you told me in August that I would be going to New York, I would have called you crazy and walked away. But if I told you that Texas A&M would win 10 games in the first year of the SEC, you would have done the same thing.” – Johnny Manziel to Scott Van Pelt

One response to “To Those Who Doubt Texas A&M

Say something about the blog, yo.

